Raspberry Oatmeal Cookies Bars

Is there a better combination then sweet & crunchy?IMG_8011

In my opinion, probably not. (except maybe chocolate and peanut butter πŸ™‚ )

At this point you’re probably thinking, “does this chick EVER stop eating sweets?” And the honest answer actually is no. No, I do not. I looove my sweets! However, I have a valid excuse this time. I’m going to visit my grandparents with the family this weekend, so I thought I’d bake up a few things to bring along πŸ™‚ (In addition to the smores cookies in my last post)

This recipe was found here, and I would not have done one single thing differently. These cookie bars are the perfect sweet/crunchy ratio! I hope we have some leftovers so that I can sneak a few back to top yogurt with! Yum! I used raspberry jam, but I’m sure you could use an preferred jam/jelly and they would turn out equally as delicious!

IMG_7990 IMG_8010 IMG_8011

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup seedless raspberry jam

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease one 8 inch square pan, and line with greased foil.
Combine brown sugar, flour, baking soda, salt, and rolled oats. Rub in the butter using your hands or a pastry blender to form a crumbly mixture. Press 2 cups of the mixture into the bottom of the prepared pan. Spread the jam to within 1/4 inch of the edge. Sprinkle the remaining crumb mixture over the top, and lightly press it into the jam.
Bake for 35 to 40 minutes in preheated oven, or until lightly browned. Allow to cool before cutting into bars.

I’ll be heading up to the lake and spending some nice relaxing, quality time with the fam! Enjoy and happy weekend! πŸ™‚

Anyone have any fun plans?!Β 

3 thoughts on “Raspberry Oatmeal Cookies Bars

  1. tkaitie

    These look so good! I may have to try this recipe out!

    I have nominated you for the Liebster Award! Feel free to head over to my blog and read my post about it. Congrats, you deserve it πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

