Quiche is a funny word

Isn’t it, though?

IMG_7907

I feel like I’m trying to say kiss with a weird accent. Kiss. Kish. Quiche? Ive been walking around saying it all morning, and it doesn’t get any less weird to me. Neither does that fact that I’m walking around talking to myself….. BUT whatever the case, it could be called a poo-poo platter and I’d still love it just the same! This recipe is UH-MAZE-ING.

I have a lot of favorite things in this world. Peanut butter, ice cream, rainy mornings, wine on the patio, long walks on the beach, snow days…..I’ll spare you the rest, but the list goes on and on. When it comes to food I have a few requirements that make a meal my favorite.

Number one — Cheese. The more cheese the better, in my opinion. ESPECIALLY if it’s goat cheese. (Or cheddar. Or feta. Or colby jack. Or…)  Nom nom nom! Cheese can take a dish to the next level!

Number two — Fresh Vegetables. I love a dish that has fresh veggies. I cant get enough of sautéed or roasted veggies! My favorites are mushrooms, zucchini, red pepper and onion. If you mix them all together (with cheese, naturally) Im a happy camper. Plus I just love the way they add beautiful color.

So what is my rambling getting at here? This dish meets MY MAIN TWO requirements to be considered my favorite meal! 

This cheesey, goey, eggy, wonderfulness is just about the perfect dish for any time of the day. AND, it was soooo easy to make. (Probably my number three meal requirement, since I know you were curious.)

After mucho research, I used the recipe found here. However, I brittified it a little bit. (Yeah, I just said that.) I added more vegetables, cottage cheese, and used cheddar instead of Muenster. (Ive always been a little intimidated by the name of that cheese…is that weird?)

IMG_7889

IMG_7892

IMG_7895

IMG_7896

IMG_7898

IMG_7906

You’ll need: 

  • 5 eggs
  • 2 egg whites
  • Goat Cheese (I used an entire log, and I’m not sorry about it.)
  • Reduced fat Cheddar Cheese
  • Mushrooms
  • Onion (I used sweet yellow)
  • 1 package of frozen spinach 
  • 1/3 cup Cottage Cheese 
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon Pepper 
  • 1/4 cup Dill 

 

Directions: 

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Head a teaspoon of olive oil in a skillet
  3. Add onion & mushrooms, cook until browned and soft
  4. Add spinach
  5. Cook until spinach is no longer frozen and liquids have evaporated
  6. Mix 5 eggs, 2 egg whites in a large bowl
  7. Add cottage cheese, salt, pepper, dill, and cheddar cheese
  8. Mix wet ingredients together 
  9. Add the mushrooms, spinach and onion mixture
  10. Pour into pie pan
  11. cover with goat cheese globs
  12. Bake for 30-40 minutes, until egg is set and no longer runny.

IMG_7907 IMG_7909

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

